The Silver State imposes property taxes on state and local levels, on all kinds of property, personal and real alike. Property is taxed 35% its fair market value (assessed value) and then adjusted by a millage rate to arrive at the total amount in property taxes you owe. If, for example, the taxable value for your single-family residence is $200,000, then the assessed value would be $70,000 ($200,000 x .35% = $70,000). Once this is established, the proper millage rates would apply.
In 2005, the Nevada state legislature added two cents to the tax rate, which resulted in a tax rate cap of $3.64 per $100 of assessed value to fund statewide capital improvements and natural resource conservation. More information on this can be found here.
Nevada law requires the Department of Taxation to provide information on the Internet regarding property taxes. County assessors must furnish a description of the assessment process, an explanation of how property taxes were calculated, rates imposed by taxing bodies, and the revenue generated by taxes. This document here shows the property tax rates for local governments for the years 2006-2007. This link here provides links to county property assessors and also county treasurers.
The Senior Citizens Property Tax Assistance Act (administered by the Nevada Division of Aging Services here) provides a rebate of up to $500 or up to 90% of taxes paid to homeowners 62 years and older who earn $24,016 or less. It is also available to renters whose property tax payments are disproportionate to their income.
Nevada Department of Taxation