Property taxes for the state of Kansas.
In The Sunflower State, homes, commercial real property, and certain other types of property are assessed at the fair market value by county assessors, and taxes are collected at the county level. For a list of county assessors, click here.
Agricultural land, certain motor vehicles, and commercial and industrial machinery and equipment are appraised based on their MSRP value. If you have questions regarding property tax on a specific piece of real or personal property, direct all questions to the appropriate county official here.
A personal property assessment form (such as the one provided here) must be filled out by March 15. At least half of the tax is due by December 20 and the second half is due June 20 of the following year. If you currently have a mortgage loan, you’ll receive a form that includes tax information. The tax bill will be sent to your mortgage company or bank, and the tax will come out of your escrow account. More information on property valuation, interest rates, and other forms you’ll need can be found here.
Assessment ratios for real property are 25% of the fair market value for commercial and industrial property and 11.5% for residential property. Agricultural land, mineral leasehold interests, and vehicles are assessed at 30% the fair market value. The assessment ratio is basically a percentage of a property’s market value that is subject to taxation. So, for example, if a county’s assessment ratio is 20% and a piece of property has a market value of $40,000, then the property is assessed at $8,000 (20% of $40,000).
Tangible and personal property such as commercial and industrial machinery and equipment used to build a facility or to add on to an existing facility is exempt.
Homeowners age 65 and older with a household income less than $27,000 can earn up to a $600 refund on their property tax. This also applies to people who are totally disabled, blind, or have a dependent child under the age of 18 who resides under their care year round. Under the Homestead Property Tax Refund Act, homeowners age 55 and older who earn a household income of $29,100 or less are eligible for a refund of up to $700. Also, Social Security benefits are not included from the definition of income for eligibility purposes, which results in additional property tax relief for seniors. Read more information on homestead exemptions here.
Kansas Department of Revenue